Marital Shambles, by Chike Godwin Okeze: An excerpt 

   “Nkiru,” Theo called, “I have told you if you continue to act stubborn towards me, I am going to leave this house for you.”

      Nkiru faced Theo. “Oh yeah.”

     “Yeah! And I mean it.”

     “I think you should file for a divorce instead.”

     Theo walked away from her so he could change his clothes. “I think you heard the doctor say I was okay. How do I get the blame for you not conceiving?”

     “And I was the one the doctor said had a problem?” She sat before her makeup desk to tidy up for the night.

     “Nkiru, I have done my part. Why are you refusing to conceive?”

     “Sorry, you have not done enough. You are not man enough to father a child.” Her statement pounded Theo’s head like a sledge hammer. 

     “Nkiru, what did you say?”

     “If you want us to prove it, just let me go out and sleep with other men, and you will see me back with pregnancy.”

     Theo felt a second pang from Nkiru in a split-second. “Nkiru, maybe you are right there; I am not man enough to father a child.”

Download the full book here

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑